The Dead Robots' Society

Writers on Writing


The Dead Robots’ Society was created by Justin Macumber in an effort to offer advice and support to other aspiring writers. It was inspired — in part — by Mur Lafferty’s podcast “I Should Be Writing.” Over the course of the show’s storied life it’s had a bevy of co-hosts (former hosts include Eliyanna Kaiser, Ryan Stevenson, P.G. Holyfield, Steve Leahy, Amanda Cales, Jason Mack, Graham Binns), but currently it is helmed by the capable collective of Justin Macumber, Terry Mixon, and Paul E. Cooley.

All the hosts, current and former, have writing experience of some kind. They gather on a weekly basis to share stories of their individual journeys and discuss topics important to the world of writing. Occasional forays into the territories of brown dragons, taco eating cowboy space ninjas, or random discussions involving monkeys are all considered rumor at best and none of the hosts are willing to admit any of that actually happened.

The Dead Robots’ Society was a 2009 and 2010 Parsec finalist in the Best Writing-Related Podcast category.